DRC Music – Kinshasa One Two

Back in July a group of producers brought together by Damon Albarn set out for the capital of the Democratic Republic of Congo, Kinshasa, with the aim of producing an album in collaboration with local Conoglese musicians. They spent five days recording and working with groups and artistis such as  Jupiter and the Okwess International and Bebson and this week Warp Records announced further details on the finished product, ‘Kinshasa One Two’.

The album will be released at the beginning of October and in the meantime, you can listen to three of the DRC Music (as the international collective is known) tracks via Soundcloud (full tracklist after the break). All the profits from the DRC Music project will go to the local performers and to support Oxfam’s work in the DRC.


1. Hallo featuring Tout Puissant Mukalo and Nelly Liyemge
2. K-Town featuring N’Gotshima and Bebson
3. African Space Anthem (A.S.A) featuring Ewing Sima of Tout Puissant Mukalo
4. Love featuring Love
5. Lingala featuring Bokatola System and Evala Litongo
6. Lourds featuring Yende Bongongo of Okwess International
7. Respect Of The Rules featuring Loi X Liberal
8. We Come From The Forest featuring Bokatola System
9. Customs featuring Bokatola System
10. Virginia featuring Magakala Virginia Yollande and Yowa Hollande
11. Ah Congo featuring Jupiter Bokondji and Bokatola System
12. Three Piece Sweet part 1 &2 featuring Bebson
13. If You Wish to Stay Awake featuring Washiba
14. Departure featuring Bokatola System


Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s